Special Events

Wild & Scenic Film Festival - Postponed - Date TBD

WSFF2020 FBpost GCWRP

In response to COVID-19, and in an effort to keep our community safe, the team at Grand Canyon Wolf Recovery Project made the difficult decision to postpone the 2020 Wild and Scenic Film Festival. Our April 11th event will now take place sometime this fall, date and time to be determined. Thank you for your on-going support!

The Grand Canyon Wolf Recovery Project is excited to host our 11th Annual Wild & Scenic Film Festival, featuring wildlife and environmental films and silent auction. This year's event will include 16 short films selected from the Wild & Scenic Film Festival On Tour program.

Stay tuned for more details about our rescheduled event!

Click Here for the Film Descriptions

Read more ...

Saving a Species: An Inside Look at Mexican Gray Wolf Recovery Webinar

WCC webinar FB imageWe are thrilled to partner with the Wolf Conservation Center in New York and the Lobos of the Southwest to present a special webinar discussion on the Mexican wolf captive breeding program.

Friday, August 7, 2020 at 11:30 am PT
(12:30 pm MT/1:30 pm CT/2:30 pm ET)
Click Here to Register

By the mid-1980s, hunting, trapping, and extermination campaigns caused the extinction of Mexican gray wolves in the wild. Through intensive efforts, such as captive breeding and wild releases, these wolves have resumed their rightful places on the wild landscape. The Wolf Conservation Center participates in the Species Survival Plan (SSP) for the endangered Mexican gray wolf, and plays a unique role in the recovery of this rare species.

Read more ...

More Articles ...